Time to get the par...

Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Time to get the party started!

Page 2 / 2

Chris Wright
(@jpchriswright)

So I have a question about the industry, I’m an american and a grad of Animation Mentor, I know my reel isn’t amazing yet and I’m still working on new shots and learning more skills. Is it likely to be hired by a Canadian company, it seems like much of the tv/film industry is there now? It’s really hard to find my “first job” and I’m killing myself looking for openings and remote work. Is reel king? I have no degree, if I have a reel that’s kickass enough is it possible to get a job in Canada?

Thanks to anyone reading!

millslove liked
ReplyQuote
Chris Derochie
(@chris_derochie)
Member Admin
Topic starter  

Last year, I would have said, "absolutely YES!" There is so much work in Canada that Canadian studios are constantly looking for talent. Often, that comes from other countries around the world. A lot of those jobs are in the Vancouver area. However, the federal government made some changes to the structure of the tax breaks that made it very hard for smaller studios to hire outside of Canada. Unless the person they were hiring had Canadian citizenship or Permanent Resident status, they were ineligible for the tax breaks on wages. This made non-Canadians twice as expensive to hire.

This was a huge stumbling block for most small and medium-sized animation studios but it was less of a burden on large studios and many visual effects studios that had higher budgets to work with. 

Yes, your reel is of prime importance, followed very closely by your work ethic and attitude (a bad attitude will block you from being hired in most studios). However, if you don't have PR or citizenship, you will find a lot of doors closed to you. In order to apply for PR, you have to have a certain number of "points" in various areas. A degree would add a lot of points for you but since you don't have one, I would suggest looking at the big studios first.